RSS Feed

Bjork, Joga Is Part of the Soundtrack of My Life

Welcome, folks, to the very first “Musical Monday” here on “Squishy Snail Burgers with Melissa Capo-Tattoos”.

This week’s post is about Bjork and will feature her song “Joga”.

Bjork was born in raised in Reykjavik, Iceland by her father Guomundur Gunnarsson and her mother Hildur Runa.

She learned to play piano at the age of eleven. Soon after, she recorded and released her first album, “Bjork”, in 1977. At the age of 14 she formed an all girl’s punk band named Spit and Snot. In 1980 she graduated from music school. Bjork  participated in many bands until she began her solo career in 1992.  Even though she  walks the path of a solo career, she continues to work with many talented artists to this day. Thus far she has created 7 albums and 2 original film soundtracks in her solo career.

Bjork had played in a handful of movies including but limited to, The Juniper Tree. She was also featured in Screaming Masterpiece.

She is a mother of two who has helped many charities and even collected a stalker over the years.

If you want to read a more in-depth bio of the lovely Bjork, just click here.

The song Joga is a dedication to Bjork’s close friend Jóhanna Jóhannsdóttir (nicknamed Jóga) and to their homeland Iceland. It is the first single from her 1997 album Homogenic.

The song Joga has a very special place in my heart. It was playing in the background during a very wonderful moment of my life. I will never forget the song, nor the moment.  I hope you enjoy the song as much as I have.

About Melissa Capo-Tattoos

I'm an experienced tattoo and fine artist, lending my skills to the greater Atlanta, Goeorgia area. I specialize in tattooing realistic flowers. The human figure, skulls, bugs and cartoon animals are also among my favorite things to tattoo, paint, and draw. If you are interested in getting a tattoo, purchasing an original piece of my art, or a print of my art, you can e-mail me at: melissacapotattoo@gmail.com or call 404-630-4265. Visit my website for more information, art, and deals! www.TattoosByMelissa.com

Leave a Reply

