RSS Feed

Hairless Kitties!

So, I know a lot of people really hate hairless cats but for some reason, I love them. They are weird and kind of creepy but there is just something about them that makes me smile.

Now, technically these cats aren’t exactly hairless. They actually have a fine layer of super soft fur all over them. Apparently the hairless-ness is caused by a recessive gene that is carried by both parents.  Sometimes you’ll have a litter of kittens that are mixed, some hairless and some all fury like normal.

I found out that hairless cats have only been documented for the last 250 years or so. Although I did find that some people believe  the cats are decedents of an ancient Aztec cat who was also, supposedly, hairless. Weird. Ancient hairless cats. Who would have thought?

Now, for a while there I was thinking I wanted one of these freakish kitties. I thought it would work out well since my husband is allergic to cats. Unfortunately, I realized that it’s not really the cat hair people are allergic to. It’s actually the skin dander and saliva that make people itch and sneeze. Oh well.

About Melissa Capo-Tattoos

I'm an experienced tattoo and fine artist, lending my skills to the greater Atlanta, Goeorgia area. I specialize in tattooing realistic flowers. The human figure, skulls, bugs and cartoon animals are also among my favorite things to tattoo, paint, and draw. If you are interested in getting a tattoo, purchasing an original piece of my art, or a print of my art, you can e-mail me at: melissacapotattoo@gmail.com or call 404-630-4265. Visit my website for more information, art, and deals! www.TattoosByMelissa.com

Leave a Reply

